New Federal CDL Requirements

Date of publish: 01/18/2022
Author: Katie Dobrogorskaya

Upcoming Federal Regulations and What This Will Mean For Drivers

The start of every year comes with new regulations from the FMCSA that are required to be implemented by carriers across the United States. While some new DOT regulations are just updates from previous rules implemented, some are new altogether. Below we will outline new updates, what that means for you, and when those updates are required to be implemented throughout 2022, as mandated by the FMCSA. 

What Is The Entry Level Driver Training Rule?

While initially intended to be implemented in 2020, the FMCSA extended the new ELDT rule due to the Covid-19 pandemic. As of February 7, 2022, the FMCSA requires all potential CDL holders to meet the new training requirements. If you have obtained a CDL or CLP before February 7, 2022, these regulations will not apply to you. If you are receiving a new CDL, upgrading your CDL from a Class B to a Class A, or adding a passenger, school bus, or hazmat endorsement to your license, you will be mandated to comply with the new training requirements. 

In an effort to increase safety and training standards across the board, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration(FMCSA) created the new Entry-Level Driver Training Rule. This new training requirement has been completed on a federal level, meaning every CDL training provider and Carrier will be required to abide by it. 

How Will This Affect You?

Prior to February 7, 2022, all CDL training providers must apply and receive approval from the FMCSA to continue providing training. The FMCSA will release a list of approved schools and is recommending that you attend training at one of the schools on the list to ensure that you meet all requirements to receive your CDL. 

The new federally mandated training will ensure that all up and coming drivers have received the same level of training and development, thus ensuring the progression of the safety standards established on the roadways. The Entry-Level Driver Training will cover approximately 30 different subjects, including both classroom training and behind-the-wheel training on the road. For students to qualify as proficient and test for their CDL, they will be mandated to achieve an 80% or higher on the exam. Every student must receive a certification from an approved training school, classifying them as proficient and documenting the number of hours the student has completed behind the wheel before the student is qualified to take their CDL exam. 

Who Does This New Rule Apply To?

If you’ve managed to receive your Class A Commercial Driver’s License or Class A Commercial Learner’s Permit prior to February 7, 2022, you’re in luck! This new training is not required for drivers who have earned their Class A CDL or endorsements. 

Suppose you are a driver that has already received your Class A CDL but is looking to add endorsements such as the Passenger Endorsement(P), School Bus Endorsement(S), or Hazmat Endorsement(H). In that case, you are required to abide by the new training requirements to receive your endorsements. 

If you have previously received your Class B Commercial Driver’s License but are looking to move up to a Class A Commercial Driver’s License, you are mandated by the FMCSA to receive the required training from the Entry-Level Driver Training Rule to obtain your Class A CDL. 

If you are a brand new driver that has yet to receive your Class A or Class B CDL, you will be mandated to complete the Entry Level Driver Training program at an FMCSA certified training school before you can test for your Commercial Driver’s License. 

The FMCSA will provide a registry that contains training facilities approved to offer the Entry-Level Driver Training Program. In addition, the FMCSA will also comprise a training provider registry that will maintain a record of CDL applicants that have complied with and completed the new training required in the Entry-Level Driver Training Program.  



Professional truck driver training in South Carolina, Oklahoma, Georgia and Illinois